Will You Ever See It Again? Or Even Once?

You may not know it when you’re right in the middle of it.  You might only recognize it after it’s gone.  You may only see it once in your working career.  Once you do recognize it, you wonder why it is so elusive.  Do others around you recognize it.  The “it” I’m speaking of, is being in a team environment where everything just clicks.  All of your co-workers like and respect each other.  They help each other with smiles on their faces, even when other parts of the organization are in chaos.

Not long before leaving my last traditional HR assignment, I  mentioned to my team during a meeting that what we have here is something to be cherished.  It doesn’t happen very often, and you may never see anything like it again during your working careers.  I’m not sure how much they believed it then, because their working careers were much shorter than mine, and they hadn’t been in many work groups.  I hope that they continue to strive for the blend of high quality/quantity work, coupled with harmony and unselfishness.

How did my team get there?  It is probably best summed up in my previous post about “Managing in H.E.L.L.–and Loving Every Minute of It.”  There are a number of short posts on that link, but the five minutes or so you’ll spend reading it may be the turning point for your team.

If you’re fortunate enough to experience it more than once, my hat goes off to you.  If you’re still looking for that first time, never, ever stop trying.  The results are worth the wait.

PLEASE FEEL FREE TO COMMENT BELOW……..

Leave a comment